Q: How do I get a card for Medical Marijuana?
A: We issue ID cards on-site the same day that you are seen! When a doctor evaluates you and gives you a recommendation (piece of paper) to use medical marijuana you are then legal to use, possess, grow and buy medical marijuana for yourself. Our ID cards can be used for verification purposes or to get into a marijuana dispensary. It is optional to get an ID card from us; we generally charge $15, and you may also purchase an ID card from the State at the Dept. of Health in your county.
Q: How much does an evaluation cost?
A: Our prices vary by clinic, please call us to inquire about the clinic nearest to you. We do everything that we can to serve all those in need of our services, so if you are on assistance or cannot afford that fee for another reason please inquire about any discounts that may apply when you speak with one of our friendly staff.
Q: What do I need to bring to a visit?
A: Please bring: medical records stating your diagnosis and/or treatment, any medications that you are taking, your valid, state or government issued identification, and the fee for the visit. Please refer to our “What to Expect” section for a more detailed description.
Q: What if I don’t have a California ID?
A: If you don’t have a CA ID we need another valid government issued ID. The form of identification needs to be government issued, valid (not expired), and needs to have your photo on it. There are some dispensaries that will not accept members without a CA ID so you will want to call around and do some research before your visit.
Q: What if I don’t have any medical records?
A: We see patients on a daily basis that either don’t have health insurance or don’t have any medical records. In this case you have 2 options: you could come in to be evaluated without any records, and possibly receive a 2-3 month recommendation until you are able to see a doctor and provide records, or you could get checked up at a free or low cost clinic before you come into our office and bring a printout of that record with you (we have a comprehensive list of free/low cost clinics on our website at www.green215.com). It is very helpful if you are able to bring records, and it may impact the length of time that your recommendation is issued for.
Q: What medical conditions qualify for medical marijuana?
A: There are specific health conditions mentioned in Proposition 215, The Compassionate Use Act of 1996, HS 11362.5. “Qualified patients” may have any serious illness, including but not limited to: cancer, HIV/AIDS, menstrual disorders, mental illness, chronic pain of any kind, eating disorders, or any condition for which the doctor and patient agree the marijuana is beneficial.
Q: How long is my recommendation good for?
A: A maximum of 1 year. The doctor may choose to issue a recommendation for less than one year on a case-by-case basis.
Q: Will I be seen by a medical doctor?
A: Absolutely. All of our physicians are highly experienced, compassionate doctors and hold an up-to-date medical license in the state of California.
Q: How long should I expect to be at my appointment?
A: We generally suggest patients set aside an hour of their time for an appointment.
Q: Do you accept insurance?
A: No, unfortunately your health insurance will not cover your evaluation.
Q: What’s the difference between a doctor’s recommendation and an ID card:
A: A recommendation is the piece of paper you receive if the doctor approves you for cannabis use. The card is a representation of the validity of your recommendation. While the card is more convenient to carry with you, it is the recommendation that is the legal document, and therefore, it is not a bad idea to keep your recommendation accessible at all times.
Q: Is my information shared with anyone? Are my records private?
A: We do not share ANY patient information with ANYONE without the written consent of the patient or a lawful court order. All of our records are completely confidential.
Q: How do I assign a caregiver?
A: The state allows you to have one caregiver. You may either bring your caregiver to your appointment, or bring them to the Patient ID center who can take care of the process.